Seize the Gray wins the Preakness Stakes and beats Mystik Dan


Seize the Gray won the 149th Preakness Stakes Saturday at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore by 2 1/4 lengths over Kentucky Derby winner Mystik Dan.

Trainer D. Wayne Lukas won his seventh Preakness Stakes, which is the most ever. Jockey Jaime Torres was competing in his first Triple Crown race and rode his horse to victory. Lukas, 88, won his first Preakness Stakes in 1980. It was his first Preakness victory since Oxbow in 2013.

There will be no Triple Crown winner in 2024 as Mystik Dan had a good effort but couldn’t chase down Seize the Gray down the stretch.

Seize the Gray moved to the front of the pack early in the race and held off competitors throughout the final stretch.

He did not compete in the 2024 Kentucky Derby, but he won the Pat Day Mile on the undercard at Churchill Downs that day.

It has about 2,570 owners on MyRacehorse, a company that allows anyone to buy a stock.

A $2 bet on Seize the Gray pays $21.60. A $2 exact bet on Seize the Gray finishing first and Mystik Dan finishing second pays $119.40. A $1 trifecta bet with Seize the Grey, Mystik Dan and Catching Freedom pays $183.70.

Official order of arrival

  1. Enter the gray
  2. Mystical Dan
  3. Catch freedom
  4. Tuscan gold
  5. Just steel
  6. Heavy Uncle
  7. Imagination
  8. limit

Required reading

(Photo: Samuel Corum/Getty Images)


Scroll to Top